Chandi is not an ordinary thing to recite nor the cup of tea for everyone. Durga Saptashati also called as Chandi Parayanam is to improve the energy level in. 1 Oct Devi Mahatmyam (Durga Saptashati or Chandi Path) is a At Chennai many Mahila Mandali complete the entire Parayanam of. Durga Saptashati. Sri Chandi is the Goddess who is the Patta Mahishi of Parabrahman. The word ‘Chanda’ hints at extraordinary traits and thus refers to the.

Author: Kazinris Vushakar
Country: French Guiana
Language: English (Spanish)
Genre: Video
Published (Last): 3 May 2011
Pages: 220
PDF File Size: 7.26 Mb
ePub File Size: 1.90 Mb
ISBN: 154-6-27346-125-8
Downloads: 58538
Price: Free* [*Free Regsitration Required]
Uploader: Kigaramar

Devi Mahatmyam Reading Procedure

In other scriptures, Chandi is portrayed as “assisting” Kali in her battle with demon Raktabija. Apart from one sitting recital, devotees read Devi mahatmya for three consecutive days: The Goddess is also portrayed as four armed in many temples.

Prathama Charitra or 1 st Chapter on first day, Madhyama Charitra 2, 3, 4 chapters on 2 nd day, and Uttama Charitra chapters on third day. For the town in India, see Chandi, Bihar. As Chandi or the destroyer of opposition, she can be invoked for removing obstacles to allow us to attain any of the four pzrayanam of life.

You are commenting using your WordPress. To escape from incurable diseases and get rid of Apamrityu, one should recite Tryambaka mantra at the beginning and end of each Shloka. These stories are narrated in thirteen chapters in the form of seven hundred stanzas or half stanzas. She is said to be the most ferocious incarnation of Adi Parashakti.

Which stotra should be read before reading saptshati path adhyaya in navratra. The recitation of Chandi in Srishti, Sthiti or Samhara karmas depends on Kamanabheda and the procedures for the same have to be learnt from the Guru.

Social and Religious Change in a Hindu Temple. After finishing the recital of Devi Mahatmya, one should chant the Devi Suktam slokas 7 to 36 of Chapter 8.

It is the most common epithet used for the Goddess.

The Sruti says, “mahadbhayaM vajramudyataM’, wherein the word ‘vajra’ means not any channdi but the supreme Brahman. Some call the Stotra Saptashati considering the set: Her anger is expressed in Devi Mahatmya.

Chandi Parayanam /(Sri Durga Saptashati)

A Meditation Upon the Devi”. Please help improve this article by adding references to reliable secondary sourceswith multiple points of view. Each chapter should be read in single sitting. Here the word “Mongol” means auspicious or benign.

While listing the ones which are free from this curse and hence suitable during Kali, it is said, ‘Gita of the Bhishma Parva, Vishnu Sahasranama of Mahabharata and Chandika Saptashati’ are free from all Doshas and grant fruits immediately in Kali Yuga. Kumari Puja, Suvasini Puja also form a part of the ritual.

Devi Mahatmyam Reading Procedure – Sage of Kanchi

Hope this helps you. Parayxnam may perform Prayogas only after the Purascharana is complete and permission to do so is granted by Sri Guru. Thus, Chandi represents the Shakti of Brahman. In addition, the mantra prescribed for this is what is known as Navakshari, the nine lettered mantra that has its basis in the Atharva Shirsha Upanishad, known as the Devi Upanishad.

I understand from parayanamm guru that reciting narayaneeya stuthi 11th chapter for 41 days continuously with lamp lit with ghee will give you the purpose of your prayer.

Error (Forbidden)

Chandika form is said to be chzndi ferocious and inaccessible because of her anger. I understand the translation but what is the reason to recite it. It is so powerful that many people avoid to read in fear of something bad will happen if there chanei any fault in reading. The three-eyed goddess was adorned with the crescent moon. Chandi, the fiercest form of the Goddess, who is the main deity of the famous Devi Mahatmya, a great poem of seven hundred verses also called Durga Saptasati or Chandi which celebrates the destruction of demons.

Parayamam chant 1 st Chapter on first day, chapters on 2 nd day, 4 th chapter on 3 rd day, chapters on 4 th day, chapters on 5 th day, 11 th chapter on 6 th day and chapters on 7 th day.